In Arabic, the word halal means permitted or lawful.
Halal foods are foods that are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines.
The following is considered to be non-halal more or less:
Pork and its by-products
Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering,
Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah, and lawful animals not slaughtered according to Islamic rites.
Carnivorous animals, and animals such as tigers, lions, cats etc,
Birds that have talons (claws) with which they catch and kill their prey such as eagles, vultures, etc.
Land animals without external ears
Animals which Islam forbids to kill such as bees, etc.
Animals, which are poisonous or produce ill effects when eaten such as some fish, snakes, etc.
Amphibian animals such as crocodiles, frogs etc.
Blood and blood by-products.
Almost all reptiles and insects, considered ugly such as worms, lice, flies, etc.
Wine, ethyl alcohol, spirits.
Foods contaminated with any of the above products.
Foods not free from contamination while prepared.
Foods processed, made, produced, manufactured and /or stored using utensils, equipment that have been not cleansed accordingly.
Fish is exempt from slaughtering
These prohibited foods and ingredients are called haram, meaning forbidden in Arabic.
Halal is One of Methods of Animal Slaughter.
Muslims are taught through the Qu'ran that all animals should be treated with respect and well cared for.
The goal is to slaughter the animal, limiting the amount of pain the animal will endure.
When an animal is slaughtered, the jugular vein is cut and the blood is allowed to drain from the animal.
Halal foods can be found not only in Middle Eastern grocers stores.
There are many stores now that offer halal foods.
In many societies, there is controversy and debate over the ethics of killing and eating animals.